Accessing Another GameObjects Rigidbody

So I have a Sphere which has a Rigid-body attached to it. I’m Trying to access that Rigid-body in another script which is attached to a cube object. The reason I’m doing this is to add a force to the sphere when the sphere touches the cube. I thought this would be simple, but I’m pretty new to C#. It REFUSES to recognize the Rigid-body as a valid thing. Here is the code:

using UnityEngine;
using System.Collections;

public class Jump : MonoBehaviour
{
    public int Height = 10;
    public GameObject dude;
    public Rigidbody Rb = dude.GetComponent<Rigidbody>();
}

The error says: A field initializer cannot reference the non-static field, method, or property ‘Jump.dude’

You can’t reference a field instance for a field value, this is what constructors are for or in the case of Unity, Start/Awake.

Modify your script to look like:

using UnityEngine;
 using System.Collections;

public class Jump : MonoBehaviour
 {
     public int Height = 10;
     public GameObject dude;
     public Rigidbody Rb;

void Start()
     {
         Rb = dude.GetComponent<RigidBody>();
     }
 }

Or you declare it sa public and assign it via inspector, or you declare (public or private) and assign it via code.

One thing is declare a variable, the other thing is to define its value (asign or refear a component to a variable its defining its value)

public Rigidbody Rb; ← Declaration

Rb = dude.GetComponent(); ← Definition

This isn’t a direct answer to your question, but I want to warn you, this isn’t good design. When two objects interact, it’s best to define the effect in the components for the game object. you can set a tag or something, or send an Event message, or define a method which is called by the script. Study Unity - Scripting API: Collision

This is important because if something strange starts happening to an object, if your program gets more complex, you have to explore the whole scene, not just the object.