Air Control While Jumping?

so i’m trying to make a 3rd person platformer. everything works absolutely fine as it is. but what i want to be able to do is control the players direction while he is in the air/jumping. i have tried a lot of things so far and done a bit of research. i just cant seem to figure is out… now i am only learning i an very new to coding. im just hoping that someone can push me in the right direction to get this to work. Thank-you!

[Header("Speed/Movement Settings")]
	public float crouchSpeed = 2.5f;
	public float walkSpeed = 5f;
	public float runSpeed = 10f;
	public float maxSlopeLimit = 45f;
	private float speed; //the walk speed of the player

[Header("Jumping/Gravity Settings")]
	public bool doubleJump; //bool for single of double jump
	public bool airMove;
	public float jumpForce = 15f; //how fast the player will move up when jumping
	public float gravity = 35f;	//how strong/fast gravity will pull you down
	public float airControl = 0.25f;

[Header("Camera Settings")]
	public GameObject cam; //the camera used for the player. mainly here for the Up/Down look and Clamp.
	public float lookSensitivityX = 2f; // sets the sesitvity of the mouse Left/Right
	public float lookSensitivityY = 0.75f; // sets the sesitvity of the mouse Up/Down
	public float minLookY = -60f; //clamps the player look Down rotaion minimum
	public float maxLookY = 75f;	//clamps teh player look Up rotaton maximum

Vector3 moveDir = Vector3.zero;

int jumpTimes;	//how many times the player will be able to jump in the air

float rotY;	//the rotaion of the camera UP/DOWN
	float rotX;	//the rotation of the camera LEFT/RIGHT

void Update () // happens every frame
	{
		CharacterController controller = gameObject.GetComponent<CharacterController>(); // gets the character controller attached to the player.

float ih =  Input.GetAxisRaw ("Horizontal"); // get the input of the horizontal axis (X)
		float iv = Input.GetAxisRaw ("Vertical");	// gets the input on the verticle axis (Z)