Animating character with blender

I’m trying to animate my own character with the “Idle”, “Walk”, “Run” and “Attack” animation.
So the question is: How do i animate my character in blender so that the animations shows up in unity on my character object?
I know that the object type would have to be FBX.

Please be very descriptive, I’m new at blender.

Thanks

By/Kikke

In blender: Make the run animation. Take a note with notepad or whatever, as to which frame you begin and end with. Such as: Run Animation Frame 0-30. Now move five frames. Make your next animation and repeat. Such as: Idle Animation Frame 35-65. Export your FBX and make sure your animation is included.

In Unity: Import your FBX of your character. Under the inspector in project view, you’ll see where you can split up your animation by name. It will then split up your animations for you to use in the game. Then you take a look at the Unity Documentation listed above on how to call those animations programmatically.

You are asking for a long answer and you will have to find out alot on yourself to accomplish this task.
I have never used Blender but i know the process from softimage, hopefully this will help:

1. You will need to build an export-ready rig. (export-ready for unity means no constrains, no IK, no expressions whatsoever). Usually you can plot a rig or use a shadow rig to adress this problem. (If there is no BiPed to handle that problem internally)
  2. Don’t try the thing with your character, try it with a simple cylinder and a chain of two bones. Once you mastered that go ahead and try to export an IK chain. If you can get that to work then go ahead with your character…
  3. Animate your character on the main timeline. (eg: idle: frame 10 - 20, walk: frame 30 - 48 etc). Split the animations in the Unity Importer settings. You can have both the model/rig data as well as the animations in one fbx file. The unity documents have good description of that process.