Best practice for setting up a grid a looping through it

Hi

First time post so please go easy :slight_smile:

I’m trying to use some cellular automata in Unity. I have plenty of experience of this in a 2D environment but this is my first time in 3D.

In a 2D environment I create a 2d array to be the grid and often for level creation I will actually write the start position of each cell in the grid by hand. Then every tick I loop through the whole array and apply whatever game logic I need.

I figure in a 3D environment I can do the same but use a 3d array, although it seems writing out the start positions by hand would take a long long time, but I have already planned ways around that.

I would like to have a rather large grid (say 20 x 50 x 10) I think this should be possible in Unity though (although getting pretty close to the limits).

Now I have a few questions, is a 3D array the best way to implement this?

And I have very little experience drawing items in 3D, so my plan was to create a prefab and add it in wherever the code requires one. My only problems with this are often a cell will contain a prefab but won’t be visible to the user(because of other blocks on top) should I still be creating the prefab in this situation?

After reading lots of forum posts I think if I use meshes I can get a performance increase, so for a start what are meshes? and do you have any links/hints on how I should be using them in my situation?

Thanks for taking the time to read my post and any help you can provide :slight_smile:

A 3D array should be fine, but you might want to consider a 1D array because it will make looping over all items easier. You would then have a function that took x,y,z and turned it into a 1D index.