.blend files don't appear to work

Okay, so I’m new to Unity and game engines in general but I think I’m smart enough to read instructions and watch a video!

Evidently, I’m missing something. I wanted to import a .blend model into a scene just to play around with it in the Unity environment. I watched the tutorial and I read the user manual on how to import blender files.

I saved my file as a .blend file and copied it to the assests folder. I then started unity and Presto-Chango! the file was in the projects view just as the instructions say it would be. So far, so good!

However, when I grab the file and attempt to drag it into the scene it will not work! Just to make sure I was doing it right I grabbed Lerpz (from the 3DPlatform Tutorial I’m slugging may way through) and dragged him onto the screen. Easy-Peazy, worked like a charm.

I notice that the icons for the objects in the project view are different from the icon next to my .blend file. The .blend file has what looks like a piece of paper next to it with the top right corner folded over. The lerpz file has a little cube with a simliar, but smaller, piece of paper in front of it.

Anyway, I can’t seem to get a .blend file to work. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Oh, BTW, I’m using Blender 2.61.

You can download the script found in this post

http://forum.unity3d.com/threads/62583-Blender-2.5-support?p=647776&viewfull=1#post647776

and copy it to your Unity3d\Editor\Data\Tools folder, replacing the existing file.

Next time you start Unity3D it’s able to use/import Blender 2.5/2.6 files

As stated on http://unity3d.com/unity/editor/importing.html, Unity uses the application’s FBX exporter. Unity then reads the FBX file.
Since the .blend file is only used for making the FBX-file I think it would be easier to just export the model as an FBX in blender and then try to use the .FBX file insted.