can/should I use a Toggle button for constant camera movement across an Axis?

I am a digital artist by trade, and trying to hammer my way through scripting. I am hoping I am going about this the right way (I am starting by trying to build tiny scripts and build up on them.)

I am trying to make an on screen toggle switch, that when in the "on " state, starts the camera scrolling at a certain speed in a single axis, and when in the "off" stage stays where it stops.

I am using the built in Unity toggle that address 2 different scripts with an If..ELse statement, that addresses 2 scripts. My questions are: 1. How can I make the camera keep moving at a certain speed until the toggle is tripped again? Right now it only moves a set distance per click.

1. Is the toggle button the appropriate GUI element for this or should I take a regular button and use some sort of detection to see if it has been clicked again? Can I embed the update function into another function?

2. Bonus question, how to I change the image for the other state? Do I have to make a GUI style or skin or can I just tell it directly to use a different image?

I've been doing a lot of digging around but I haven't been able to get it right looking at the reference and other examples so far, but I am hoping to prevail out of sheer stubbornness.

This is what I have so far.. baby steps right?

var Ignition = false;
var engineOnText : Texture;
var engineOffText : Texture;
var CameraSpeed : float;

function EngineOn () {

GetComponent("MainCamera"); transform.Translate(CameraSpeed * Time.deltaTime, 0, 0 );
    Debug.Log("on");

}

function EngineOff () {

Debug.Log("Off");
}

function OnGUI () {

var makeNewButton = GUI.Toggle (Rect (800, 800, 200, 200),  Ignition, engineOffText);

// Check if the toggle was toggled
    if (makeNewButton != Ignition) {
        if (makeNewButton == true)
            EngineOff();
        else
        EngineOn();

Ignition = makeNewButton;
    }
}