Chaining int64

I was looking at a question recently (Currency system similar to "Clicker Heroes" in C# - Questions & Answers - Unity Discussions) and I noticed one suggestion by @BoredMormon was to chain int64’s. I looked around a bit with no luck, so I decided to ask a question. So, how would I go about chaining int64’s?

Thanks!

P.S. I am relatively new to c# coding, so if you could keep your answers simple, that would be great!

Chaining, though an odd name is really using multiple variables to make up a very large concatenated variable.

Example:

int64 = 9,223,372,036,854,775,807 = 9.2 Quintillion

If you had two values of type int64/long you would “chain” them together, each able to hold 9.2 Quintillion each, but you would be able to extend the number by including them as one number output

9,223,372,036,854,775,807| 9,223,372,036,854,775,807
^Var 2                     ^ Var 1

When Var 1 hits 9,223,372,036,854,775,807, then Var 2 begins at 1 and Var 1 starts at 0 and continues to increase. soit would look like:

1                                           | 0,000,000,000,000,000,000
^Var 2                                        ^ Var 1

Concatenated together and with formatting applied to the numbered variable(to pad zeros) you would get a total of: 10,000,000,000,000,000,000 which is outside of a int64/long signed var.

The point being you’re tracking these large numbers through a number of variables and combining them to reach values outside of there defined behavior.

Edit:

Here is an example, i worked it up in a ConsoleApplication as proof of concept, obviously some refactoring would be necessary for Unity(storing variable values(serialization)) and all that jazz.