Change variable in c# script A from c# script B???

I have two scripts, PlayerController.cs and DestroyByContact.cs. As one of the things to do inside of an If statement, I want the DestroyByContact script to access the PlayerController script, and change it’s boolean variable “canControl” to false. If it helps, the Player Controller script is attached to the “Player” object, and the DestroyByContact script is attached to the “Asteroid” object. I’m really new to this scripting stuff, and I’ve been slaving over this for days, but I can’t get it right. Please be as exhaustive and long-winded as you need in order to explain this simply. I need to know the steps to take, in order, what code to put where in the script, and all that jazz. Any help is immensely appreciated!!!

You can create static variables

public static bool canControl

In DestroyByContact you can write this:

if (PlayerController.canControl) {
 // do something
 }

Both of them must be C# or JS.

This is not effective way. If you further will keep doing like this with all other scripts, it will create code that is very hard to read.

If you’d like to set a variable in one c-sharp script attached to a GameObject, from another c-sharp script attached to another GameObject, you can do so inside the inherited function/method OnTriggerEnter. Inside DestroyByContact.cs, add the following to your class:

public void OnTriggerEnter(Collider collider)
	{
		if (collider.gameObject.name == "Player")
		{
			Player player = collider.GetComponent<Player>();
			player.canControl = false;
		}
	}

Inside your Player script, make sure your canControl variable is public, so that other scripts can access it externally. It should look something like this:

public bool canControl;