Combining ECS workflow with standard OOP Unity

Hello :)
I'm just getting started with ECS and DOTS.

My initial idea was to use ECS to manage the game's world (tiles, objects, random generation, etc) for maximum performance.
This seems fitting to me as this includes managing a lot of objects.
However, I can't wrap my head around using DOTS for other parts in the game, like character management or UI menus.
Ideally, I would like to keep using the standard OOP workflow for most of my systems.

Is it possible to elegantly hybrid DOTS with OOP?
If so, what are the sync/entry points between the two?
Thanks!

If your GameObjects are prefabs, yes. If your GameObjects are in the scene, then it depends on your definition of "elegant", though I would lean towards "no". Most solutions for this tend to be very hacky.

It seems like the consensus is to "bind" your monobehaviours to the ECS system by throwing them in managed components.

Although the official examples don't offer elegant ways of doing this.

Similar question was asked here, including my answer: https://forum.unity.com/threads/combine-ecs-and-monobehavior-on-same-object.1456273

That covers the case of generating objects from entities. If you're going in the other direction and want to manipulate entities from the OOP side without using the above pattern, it comes down to making calls to the World's EntityManager from the mono side.

E.g. World.DefaultGameObjectInjectionWorld.EntityManager.DoStuff

The https://assetstore.unity.com/packages/tools/behavior-ai/agents-navigation-239233 plugin on the store is also a good example of how to get the two worlds to interact, if you're willing to study the code. (Asset not made by me, so this isn't a promotion!)

1 Like

It depends. This is quite common question now, so I’ll just leave previous answer:
https://discussions.unity.com/t/927020/5

You don’t have to add them as part of managed component. Add MonoBehaviour directly to the entity as component.