Configurable Joint : where is an additionnal force applied to the main body?

Hello everyone,

I am quite new to unity (only a few years, but solo learning… so let’s say quite new…).
I am trying to rig a vehicle, for that I am using 4 configurable joints (one for each wheel). Then I have 5 bodies : 1 box for the chassis, and 1 sphere collider per wheel.

Right now, I have a working prototype, however, something is not working properly :
When I measure a slip angle at the wheel, or a longitudinal slip, I add a force to the rigidbody of the wheel, using AddForceAtPosition(), giving it the contact patch of the tire on the ground (indeed, that is where all the loads can come from).
I get a decent behavior from the car: I even have direct effects from this type of “simulation” : the car takes a roll/pitch angle when turning/braking, because you are applying load below the position of the center of mass. However, if I try to lower the car a bit, the roll angle comes inverted (tilts to the left, when turning left), and I discovered that the exact position when it inverted was when the Center of Mass of the chassis was going below the center of the spheres used for the wheel…

This is where comes my question : where are exactly applied the forces applied on a child body (the wheel) onto the main body (the chassis), in a joint configuration ?
Because I was assuming that the force would be applied at the position where I defined it : contact patch - and in that case, I would have to lower the car below the ground to invert this roll behavior - but according to the behavior I observe, it seems to be applied by default at the center of mass of the child body…
If so, would you have any advice to change this behavior ? I have been trying for a while to solve this problem :

• trying lots of different combinations of anchor positions
  • I even messed with the position of the sphere collider in the attached body