In regard to tinkering, my initial fumblings created projects by clicking, “Ooo, what does this button do.” Then, realizing, “I hate that project name” or "I just misspelled ‘fish’ " or whatever the late night case of mishaps… The project gets archived.
However, for those of us, yes I must admit, who may be a bit OCD… seeing it still sitting there in archive land… is a bit… annoying. Will there ever be a way to completely delete even the archived projects? Thereby re-leaving all us who love to see things clean and squeaky.
Slighty off topic but Unity should add in the ability to archive a project without all the extra unused crap in it… much like other professional programs can do for archiving purposes… and would make opening a slimmed down version of the project in a beta update to test without all the extra bs texture/shader conversion bs bs bs.
And yeah should be able to delete from the Hub, bit of a hassle to delete a project, especially when they don’t even bother putting in a shortcuts like open the project folder in file manager…
AFAIK you can ask them to delete stuff manually, but there is no built in way to delete a project. Even though it has been asked multiple times in the last couple of years.
OMG LOOK AT THE VOTES! Just had to go in and archive a bunch of stuff AGAIN because it will not allow delete. I’m very concerned about this from a security standpoint. Why is UNITY so stuck on avoiding the ability to delete your own stuff. What could be the actual reason? Why would UNITY want to FORCE a user to keep projects they never wanted in there in the first place? Is something going on here?
My early tinkering with the program yielded numerous test builds and outdated/broken builds which are clutter, as well as collaboration content we are no longer pursuing.
Remember, There are other project collab/backup options available if Unity refuses to be transparent.
I can’t erase archived while giving a try to Plastic SCM, can’t build because there’s “an archived” project (so it seems) with the same name in collab (that’s my educated guess), and I can’t erase it. I’m forced to use another name for test projects (while learning to use the tools before I buy it). Unfortunately, if this isn’t fixed I’m going to stick to Git and other free and paid tools. Any update?
No. That has nothing to do with it. Unity has simply always sucked at making websites. If any functionality exists on the web expect it to be in a barely functional state. It has been this way since the very beginning of the company.
Just wanted to bump this because I am teaching Unity to kids as my day job, resulting in about 30-40 different projects being made a month. Sometimes I forget to uncheck the box for it to be linked to the cloud when creating the project.
I now have about 20 projects in Archive with the names like “Mon3pmLv0_2D” just sitting there doing nothing. I’m going to reach out and create a ticket to delete the ones that I have at the moment, but it feels EXTREAMLY tedious to have to do that.
UPDATE:
They do not allow you to delete them anymore… so yeah, they are just sitting there in Archive now