Dictionary reference disappearing

Hi guys,

I’m pretty new to C#, and I’ve run into a bug thats probably an easy and simple fix but I’m just going round in circles now and can’t see the solution.

I have a class ‘Planet’ which contains another class ‘Planet_Data’ (used for serialization) which contains another class ‘Industry’. The Industry class has a Dictionary> member named ‘productionSheet’ (marked as [System.NonSerializable], constructed like so

public Industry(Storage s)
{

productionUnits = new List<ProductionUnit>();
    ReloadDictionary();
}

public void ReloadDictionary()
{
    productionSheet = new Dictionary<Enums.Commidities, ConsumptionAndProduction>();
    foreach (Enums.Commidities e in Enum.GetValues(typeof(Enums.Commidities)))
    {
        productionSheet.Add(e, new ConsumptionAndProduction(0, 0));
    }
}

My planet object is constructed like so

void Awake()
{
    data = new Planet_data();

// other members
    data.industry = new Industry(getStore());
    Debug.Log(data.industry.productionSheet);
    // other members
}

When the scene is launched, the productionSheet is printed out correctly to the console, ie it is instantiated and assigned to at this stage. I then have a function which is called from Update(), which looks like this

void Turn()
{
    Debug.Log(data.industry);
    data.industry.ClearProductionSheet(); //
    //

Industry::
public void ClearProductionSheet()
{
    foreach (var e in productionSheet) // null reference exception 
    {
        e.Value.consumption = 0;
        e.Value.production = 0;
    }
}

The log shows that at the start of turn, the Industry object has been instantiated. However, the Dictionary contained within is now null.

I don’t understand why my Dictionary has lost it’s reference. Again, this is probably a simple thing I’m missing, but can anyone point out the problem to me?

Because unity saves data through XML serialization. Dictionaries are not serializeable. Lists and arrays are.