Difference in functionality when pressing different buttons

Hi everyone :slight_smile:

I am new to Unity and game developing, and while trying to create the jump function for the player, I found something that is not clear to me, and I would be glad for an explanation:

I am using Brackeys’ 2D Character Controller, and using the Move function in it with this code:

using System.Collections;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using UnityEngine;

public class PlayerMovement : MonoBehaviour
{
    public CharacterController2D controller;

public float runSpeed = 40f;

float hozrizontalMove = 0f;
    bool jump = false;

void Update()
    {
        hozrizontalMove = Input.GetAxisRaw("Horizontal") * runSpeed;

if (Input.GetAxisRaw("Vertical") > 0)
        {
            jump = true;
        }
    }

private void FixedUpdate()
    {
        // Move the character
        controller.Move(hozrizontalMove * Time.fixedDeltaTime, crouch, jump);
        jump = false;
    }
}

I have noticed that when checking the press of the jump button instead of the vertical up button:

void Update()
    {

if (Input.GetButtonDown("Jump"))
        {
            jump = true;
        }
    }

the jump action in the game is noticeably lower.

In order to try to find the cause of the difference, I limited the jump functionality to occur only once:

public class PlayerMovement : MonoBehaviour
{
    public CharacterController2D controller;

public float runSpeed = 40f;

float hozrizontalMove = 0f;
    bool jump = false;

bool already_jumped = false;

void Update()
    {

if (Input.GetAxisRaw("Vertical") > 0 && !already_jumped)
        {
            jump = true;
            already_jumped = true;
        }
    }