I have no idea why this option defaults on, I guess Unity assumes we’re all working on server farms not laptops.
Anyway I want to write a script to turn it off so it will stop crashing Unity and generally screwing everything up but the setting is nowhere to be found in the LightmapSettings or LightmapEditorSettings classes.
Thanks for your help.