Dragging a 2D sprite with touch

Hi. I would like a red circle to be moved when the player touches it, as in a touch on an iPhone. and then drags the red circle somewhere. I would like the red circle to go wherever the user’s finger goes. I am still fairly new to Unity so, I have no clue how to do this. Would anyone mind helping me out? Thanks!

There are many ways to achieve this, but I recommend the EventSystems DragHandler:

1. Make sure you create an EventSystem component in your hierarchy.
  2. Add a Physics 2D Raycaster component to your Main Camera.
  3. Write a script that implements IBeginDragHandler, IDragHandler and IEndDragHandler.
  4. Add the script to the 2D sprite. Add a 2D Collider as well.

Here is a demo script how it could look. Be aware that the logic in this one might not fit, what you’re doing:

using UnityEngine;
using UnityEngine.EventSystems;

public class DragAndDrop : MonoBehaviour, IBeginDragHandler, IDragHandler, IEndDragHandler
{
	public static GameObject DraggedInstance;

Vector3 _startPosition;
	Vector3 _offsetToMouse;
	float _zDistanceToCamera;

#region Interface Implementations

public void OnBeginDrag (PointerEventData eventData)
	{
		DraggedInstance = gameObject;
		_startPosition = transform.position;
		_zDistanceToCamera = Mathf.Abs (_startPosition.z - Camera.main.transform.position.z);

_offsetToMouse = _startPosition - Camera.main.ScreenToWorldPoint (
			new Vector3 (Input.mousePosition.x, Input.mousePosition.y, _zDistanceToCamera)
		);
	}

public void OnDrag (PointerEventData eventData)
	{
		if(Input.touchCount > 1)
			return;

transform.position = Camera.main.ScreenToWorldPoint (
			new Vector3 (Input.mousePosition.x, Input.mousePosition.y, _zDistanceToCamera)
			) + _offsetToMouse;
	}

public void OnEndDrag (PointerEventData eventData)
	{
		DraggedInstance = null;
		_offsetToMouse = Vector3.zero;
	}

#endregion
}