Find center and bounding sphere of scene?

Is there a simple way to find out the center and bounding sphere of a fully dynamic scene? I would like to be able to create a “zoom all” camera feature like the inbuilt zoom extents functionality of Unity but at runtime.

I have lots of experience from Adobe Director (Shockwave 3d) and in Director you can get the bounding sphere of any scene node and its children that doesn’t require a renderer or any geometry. I was kinda expecting the same in Unity.

You should do something like this:

• Find all renderers (GameObject.FindAllObjects or something like that)
  • renderer.bounds will give you bounding box for renderer
  • Merge all bounding boxes using Bounds.Expand (or something like that)

Hmm, since you want a bounding sphere, I wouldn’t work with boxes. I’d simply get a list of all gameobjects in the scene using,

GameObject[] allGameObjects = GameObject[])GameObject.FindObjectsOfType(typeof(GameObject));

Now, since you want a bounding sphere, you can do two things: The easy way, or the hard, but more correct way. :slight_smile:

The easy one first:

You can run through all those objects and figure out which position is furthest from the origin. This distance is thus the radius of your bounding sphere. You know that a sphere with that radius will contain all other objects, since the distance to the origin of all other objects was found to be less than the radius you use.

That method will certainly result in a sphere that contains all objects, but it might be larger than it needs to be, since that method insists on placing the center of the sphere in 0,0,0. All objects could potentially be inside a marble-sized sphere and still require a bounding sphere of the earth’s radius, if all objects happen to be located approximately earth-radius away from 0,0,0. So that’s not necessarily what you want.

The harder, but more correct way: