Forward is always forward

Hi all,

I currently have a kinematic body that I rotate and I wish ‘forward’ to always be a positive y on the joystick (actually touch pad).

ver=0.1f*moveJoystick.position.y;

Vector3 pos=p.bodyhit.transform.position+(p.bodyhit.transform.TransformDirection(Vector3.forward) * ver);
p.bodyhit.transform.position=pos;

Here’s what I currently do. ‘p’ is the parent and bodyhit is the rigidbody.
It would seem though that depending on my point of contact I’m not doing it correctly.
Hope my rather bad question is clear - any help/suggestions appreciated

thanks

Thanks - will add the delta time.
I think this problem is related to my other question - appreciate your response though

Cheers

I am new to Unity, too, but I think the easiest way to do something lake that would be to parent your object to an empty and move that one forward, while rotating the child. At least that’s how I’d do an animation like that in Max, but I guess it should work in Unity, too.

Not sure about your scene setup, but I guess you want the character to always move forward, based on your cameras transformation:

float velocity = 0.1f * moveJoystick.position.y;
p.bodyhit.transform.position += Camera.main.transform.forward * velocity;

Hi,

Thanks for the info.
I can’t use the camera ‘forward’ as the camera is all over the place :slight_smile:
I guess another way to phrase it is:

When my player collides with the cube. I wish the cube’s forward to be perpendicular to it but facing in the same direction as the cooling player. Erm, not sure if that helps :-))

Cheers

:slight_smile:
I’m confusing myself.

I’ll explain what I want in real terms :-)))