Game architecture

Hi,

I'm currently thinking about the Architecture of my new Unity-Game. I'm struggling with 2 options:

1) Create GameObjects with the Editor for Entities like Player, Enemy, Items and then attach some Scripts to this Objects.

2) Have a custom Master-Class (like Game) that holds all Game-specific data, like Players, Enemies, Gamestate, etc. And then create and attach the GameObjects to this custom-objects.

I think the second approach is a must if I want to create Objects during Runtime (e.g. random enemies). Is it even possible to create GameObjects from scratch (with ...new GameObject(...)), I just found solutions with cloning/coping existing Objects.

Has somebody any suggestions or options I have missed. (technical answers are welcome, I have some programming background ^^)

regards knoggly

Both are viable options, and it really comes down to your game and it's complexity.

With option one, you as the designer have full control over everything you do, however you also end up having to do all of the work in a repetitive and tedious manner. This is probably the safest way to work, but if you have a background in programming, you can create a better way.

With option two, you can have a "Factory" class, it could be a single factory that generates everything, or you could have a separate factory for each object type you need to spawn. You can hold a reference to each prefab you need to spawn in these factories, and simply use Instantiate() to generate your enemies, players, etc. The problem with this approach is your code needs to know where to place these, otherwise it will end up defaulting their spawn point to the origin, and that can get a little predictable.