Generating ID to created object

I am new in unity. I have a code that creates a multiple cubes. I want to create for each of them unique ID but when I stop playing the game, the ID will be deleted with cube. I don’t now how to solve this problem. Can someone help me with it?

OK, you may be new to Unity but the code tells me you’ve done a bit of coding before.

Since you want to save quite a bit of data, you’ll need to use JSON for now. There are a few concepts that you’ll need to know (or research) before: JSON; File and directory naming; statics in C#; Serialisation; Classes that don’t inherit from monobehaviour; communicating between classes and gameobjects.

Having said that there are plenty of good videos on this topic. One I recommend to help you with the principles is this one by the always excellent Mike from Comp-3 Interactive. If you follow that, you’ll see how to save and save the data in a separate class to disk. If you can save all your cube data in a similar class, it’s an easy job to change from your code to implement JSON load/save.

Good luck!

This sounds, in principle, exactly the same as Inventory systems, user preferences, saved game states or even checkpoints. Even for hyper-casual games, there is always something to be saved. So, how to do it?

If you are a beginner, I don’t recommend getting into databases just yet. They may be your solution in time (whether saved locally, in the cloud or on the IOS/Android platform data store). The easiest way to start is using Player Preferences (PlayerPrefs). You haven’t said how many cubes there are and PlayerPrefs is not the best if you have tens of objects (it will cope but it will be messy). The main problem with PlayerPrefs is that there is limited range of data types and an array is not one of them, though you could create a very long string with names in it.