Gradient background

Hello guys,

I want to achieve gradient backgrounds (linear and radial) with colors that are changeable from script. These backgrounds do not neccessarily need to be 3D backgrounds… I want something similar to after effects like when you have a 3D scene but with a 2D background that does not change with the camera movement. Is this even possible?
Could you lead me to the right direction, please?
It is for a scene that focuses on the objects. A camera can rotate around these objects and I want to have nicely colored backgrounds.
I thought of a radial (or linear) alpha texture that I would blend with a solid color plane but I don’t know how to begin as I am new to procedural textures.

Do you think working with skyboxes would be easier in this case? How would I achieve transition-free gradients then?

Thanks in advance!

Creating a linear gradient as a texture is trivial…all you need is to make a two-pixel texture, using the two colors in the gradient, and make sure bilinear filtering is on. The bilinear filtering creates the gradient for you.

As with most things in Unity, there are a variety of ways of creating gradients.

1. From a performance standpoint, the best way is probably a shader. Take a look at this package in the Asset Store:

https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/#/content/9403

If you poke around you may be able to find free version of the two shaders you need.

1. If your gradients are one color…light to dark…you can use any shader that _Color property and a grayscale texture of the gradient.

2. For a horizontal or vertical gradient only, you can use vertex colors. Vertex colors require a shader that supports Vertex colors. Few of the shaders that come with Unity support vertex colors, but there are a number in the Unity Wiki. Or for an absolutely minimal shader you can use this one:

Shader “Custom/Vertex Colored” {
    Properties {
    }
    SubShader {
    Pass {
    ColorMaterial AmbientAndDiffuse
    }
    }
    }