Having trouble trying to verify a string returned from a UnityWebRequest.POST

Im not new to coding but I am new to Unity. I am simply setting up a sample project to store and retrieve data from a MySQL database. At the moment I has MAMP setup locally and a local MySql database setup through MAMP. That all works. I can query against and insert data.

What I cant figure out it why I cannot do a simple string varification on the text data returned from a UnityWebRequest.post. Im simply checkign to see if the string data returned from the php filevia aUNityWebRequest.post is equal to “nakGood.” The debug.log indeed shows it is “nakGood” but my if statement always returns false.

From my local php script running in MAMP, I simply query the table to see if a user is already registered. If not I add a new record. So I want to pass back to my Unity script whether the registration was successful or not.

It all works until I try to check the results of the www.downloadHandler.text

My simple PHP code is this:

So if its successful im returning back the string “nakGood” or even “0” (same results)

My Unity script is this: [the line not working as I think it should below is if(nakDataBack.Equals(“nakGood”))]

IEnumerator Register()
{
Debug.Log(“Register started attempt”);
WWWForm nakForm = new WWWForm();
nakForm.AddField(“nakname”, nameField.text) ;
nakForm.AddField(“nakpassword”, passwordField.text);

using (UnityWebRequest www = UnityWebRequest.Post(“http://localhost/sqlconnectsample/nakregister.php”, nakForm))
{

www.downloadHandler = new DownloadHandlerBuffer();
yield return www.SendWebRequest();

Debug.Log(www.downloadHandler.text);

string nakDataBack = www.downloadHandler.text;
if (www.result != UnityWebRequest.Result.Success)
{
Debug.Log(“1:” + www.result + “<<>>” + www.responseCode) ;
}
else
{
if(nakDataBack.Equals(“nakGood”))
{
Debug.Log(“User created successfully”);
UnityEngine.SceneManagement.SceneManager.LoadScene(0);
}
else
{