Help adding a script to a gameobject during runtime

Hello community! I have this little project of mine I havent been able to complete yet and I was hoping you guys could give me a hand with your expertise.

On a game that runs on Unity 4, I have been trying to add a script to a gameobject during runtime using the following line of code

GameObject.Find("male_Cloak").AddComponent<RainbowScript>();

with no success, after a talk with the devs, they told me to add it to a method called MainCamera which I figured would execute my code whenever the games starts a new instance, I get the following error in the output log:

ERROR: NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
MainCamera.Start ()

I have checked that the script inheritates from Monobehaviour and it does, I also tested the script using Unity editor and it works flawlessly, I’m new to unity and I dont know what else I could try, any help is appreciated and if I could add any more information to help you help me just comment down below, thanks a lot!

Hello.

Some things:

First, do not use GameObject.Find() , it consumes a lot of resources as it must iterato among all objects in the scene. Is better to TAG the object and use

wich is more faster. Or find it from another object you already have assignwed to a value using transform.Find or transform.parent or things like this related to hicheracy.

Second, message about null reference errors (so many users come asking for this. Solution:Debugg):

Hello! This is a standard answer.

Before coming Unity answers, you must always google what your error means. And learn that in every error message, it says the line of code where is happening.