How can I make a climbing animation / action (wall climbing)?

Hi,

Im beginning to make a new game, where animations are going to play a large part, but havent really experimented too much with mecanim before.

How do I make a climbing animation, that actually moves the player upwards. So if the player faces a wall, and hits shift / space or some button, how would I make it climb up that wall. Also is it possible to make it detect where the wall is and adjust the hand positions according to this?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

IEMatrixGuy

Hi,

I have no experience with mecanim but i do know a bit about animation. For this your character will need to have any necessary joints rigged in order to make them hinge and you will need a script to activate the animation once in contact with the ladder or wall.

function OnCollisionEnter(theCollision : Collision){
     if(theCollision.gameObject.name == "Wall"){
      Animation.Play ("Climb");
     }
    }
// This is assuming the animation is called 'Climb'  and the wall is called 'Wall' - Both without the quotation marks.

This script will play the animation once you come in contact with the wall, to make the option to climb only after collision with the wall is out of reach of my coding capabilities (I’m only 13 and an amateur at coding).

I can only help if you would like to use the animator in unity because thats all I know how to use but obviously you want to use mecanim so I’ll let somebody else advise you on that.

I hope this will help and I’m sorry I can’t help with mecanim. I hope your game is successful and good luck!

This will ask one of your question this here will make sure the character is facing the wall he is climbing in C# just a few changes you have to do if you want it in javascript

RaycastHit hit //Declare this somewhere

//RayCast for climbing tags
//Vector3(0,1f,0) adding this to transform.position allows you to adjust the raycast line on your character