How can I switch between idle and attacking animations while also keeping in mind direction.

I am pretty new to Unity and have just been messing around with animations. Currently, I have been using bools to check what direction the player is facing. I’m also referencing bools from the player animator in the sword script since the sword object is not attached to the player. With this I was able to have it switch between the two idle animation directions, however, the problem came up of it always playing the idle animations and never being able to switch to attacking. If anyone could help me with this problem and what I can do to fix it, as well any other advice on how I could clean things up, would be greatly appreciated.

public class SwordSwing : MonoBehaviour

public Animator swordAnimator;
public Animator playerAnimator;

public void Update()
{
    if (playerAnimator.GetFloat("lastMoveX") == 1)
    //(playerAnimator.GetBool("lastMoveXGreater") == true)
    {
        swordAnimator.SetBool("lastMoveXGreaterIdle", true);
        swordAnimator.SetBool("lastMoveXLessIdle", false);
    }

if (playerAnimator.GetFloat("lastMoveX") == -1)
    // (playerAnimator.GetBool("lastMoveXLess") == true)
    {
        swordAnimator.SetBool("lastMoveXLessIdle", true);
        swordAnimator.SetBool("lastMoveXGreaterIdle", false);
    }

if (Input.GetKeyDown(KeyCode.Mouse0))
    {
        swordAnimator.SetBool("pressedAttack", true);

if (swordAnimator.GetBool("pressedAttack") == true && playerAnimator.GetBool("lastMoveXGreater") == true)
        {
            swordAnimator.SetBool("attackingXGreater", true);
        }

if (swordAnimator.GetBool("pressedAttack") == true && playerAnimator.GetBool("lastMoveXLess") == true)
        {
            swordAnimator.SetBool("attackingXLess", true);
        }
    }
}

public void SwordSwingAnimationEvent()
{
    if (playerAnimator.GetFloat("lastMoveX") == 1)
    //(playerAnimator.GetBool("lastMoveXGreater") == true)
    {