How do I have Reference to GameObject

I’m just learning unity and made a quick script that on click of the item it removes the gameObject. I see that my script inherits MonoBehaviour which not to sure what that is. But my question is how do I have reference to things like gameObject and Destory? How is it that the unity engine is able to provide those items within the scope of my script?

MonoBehaviour is the native Unity class that all scripts naturally inherit from. You can read about “inheritance” in coding, it just means that this current script, which is a class, inherits all the information from another class as if all the code in that other class existed within the current class/script. All the typical Unity methods, functions, etc. exist within the MonoBehaviour class, so if you’re going to use any of that stuff then your script needs to inherit from MonoBehaviour:

Luckily, Unity does this automatically which is why you see “class : MonoBehaviour{” at the top of your scripts. If your script is attached to a gameobject, it MUST inherit from MonoBehaviour. You can have scripts that don’t inherit from MonoBehaviour, but they can’t be attached to a gameobject. This would be like if you created a custom class that you instantiate into other scripts, but don’t get bogged down with that concept yet if you’re just getting started.