how do i update without reinstalling?

I want to get the new version of Unity, but I don't want to have two versions of unity sitting on my desktop. Or when i go to install the new version, will it see the original unity and update that instead? thanks!

It will "delete" all previus versions of unity, so you only have 1 Unity. It will of course save all off your scenes and stuff.