How should I save/load file in Unity at runtime? (what the proper way)

In short words:

When should I use simple StreamWriter and StreamReader only for file-IO operations? And when I should use AssetDatabase stuff for for this purpose?

In more) words:

I’m new to Unity. All I need now - to save some txt-data to file, when user push “save” button in my Unity editor extension. And be able to load it back by “Load” button.
I’ve used StreamWriter for saving:

static void WrieStringToFile(string myString, string fileNameWithFullPath)
{
    // I even don't need this block - looks like `StreamWriter` handles file creation 
    // .. (if needed) by himself:
    // if (!System.IO.File.Exists(fileNameWithFullPath))
    //     System.IO.File.Create(fileNameWithFullPath);

StreamWriter sw = new StreamWriter(fileNameWithFullPath);
    try
    { sw.Write(myString); }
    catch (Exception err)
    { Debug.LogError("Error saving file: " + err.Message); }
    sw.Close();
}

, and it works. And, I hope, there should not be any problems with loading data from such file using StreamReader. But, now I’ve encountered another way to work with file in Unity - something like this:

MyType assetObj = new MyType();
AssetDatabase.CreateAsset(assetObj, assetNameWithFullPath);
AssetDatabase.SaveAssets();
AssetDatabase.Refresh();

// Same logic, as I've used without all these wrappers of AssetDatabase stuff
// (but I'm not sure, I saw the proper code in this part - may be saving should 
// .. be also some AssetDatabase-operation, but I didn't find any similar)
WrieStringToFile(myString, assetNameWithFullPath);

EditorUtility.SetDirty(assetObj);
AssetDatabase.SaveAssets();
AssetDatabase.Refresh();

If I understand correct, this “with AssetDatabase stuff” approach stores data structured by MyType. In other words, the asset looks like MyType instance, stored to hard drive. And it lets me load data from such file directly in MyType instance by