How to avoid getting hit twice with two bullets?

I am quite new to 2d games. In my current project, my enemy fires two bullets:

Instantiate(bullet, new Vector3(transform.position.x - 0.5f, transform.position.y - 1.0f, transform.position.z), Quaternion.identity);
Instantiate(bullet, new Vector3(transform.position.x + 0.5f, transform.position.y - 1.0f, transform.position.z), Quaternion.identity);

However, when my player gets hit and registers it:

if (name == "Enemy Bullet(Clone)") {
		if (lives > 0) {
				lives--;
				invulTime = 180;
		} else {
				Destroy(gameObject);
				Destroy(other.gameObject);
				Application.Quit();
		}
}

As a result of double shots, my player, if right in the line of fire, loses two lives when getting hit by both bullets. Is it possible to not make that happen? Thank you.

Put a boolean, lets say “hitRegistered” and have it true.
Then you if statement should read

if (lives>0 && hitRegistered){
   hitRegistered=false;
   WaitOut();
}else{
}

Since you turned the boolean false, the if statement won’t even start for the second bullet.
in the function WaitOut(), you could put a statement to wait for a second, and then re enable the boolean.

I put it into a separate function because if you put the yield statement in the main if code, it will make the whole thing wait.

I would suggest using cooldowns.

If you have a scipt on your bullet GameObject, you could add an attribute containing the unique identifier of the enemy using GetInstanceId().

private System.Collections.Generic.List<int> RecentShotsIDs;

if (name == "Enemy Bullet(Clone)") {
    int enemyID = collision.GetComponent<Bullet>().enemyID ;
     if( !RecentShotsIDs.Contains( enemyID ) )
     {
         if (lives > 0 ) {
             lives--;
             invulTime = 180;
         } else {
             Destroy(gameObject);
             Destroy(other.gameObject);
             Application.Quit();
         }
     }
     else
     {
         RecentShotsIDs.Add( enemyID  ) ;