How to do I make a windows build default to using nVidia instead of integrated on a Windows laptop?

I am a developer. I’m building a game in Unity. My laptop runs Windows 8.1 and has an nVidia GT 750M and an integrated Intel HD 4600. When I build for Windows the game runs with the integrated graphics card, not the dedicated GPU, so quality and performance suffer.

I don’t care that this happens to me. I am a developer and I can find the end-user work-arounds to change the default graphics processor for this specific instance on my machine.

I do care that players of my game on laptops like mine will have a sub-optimal experience because they don’t know or don’t care to work out how to change the graphics processor option.

How do I make a Unity windows executable default to using the faster GPU, or explicitly give the option to the end-user?

The work around, before someone suggests it: right-click on the executable and choose “Run with graphics processor > High-performance NVIDIA prcessor”.

Please don’t tell my end-users they have to do this or similar. There are other end-user solutions and workarounds listed within the links below, but I’m asking for a developer solution, if anyone can help.

Sorry, this question has been asked before. However, I’m yet to find an answer for developers.

Here’s a selection of previous, similar questions (none with solutions for developers):

For completeness, here’s a list of others having had the same problem with other platforms:

I’ve found the documentation for how to direct the Optimus driver at runtime to use the High Performance Graphics

Starting with the Release 302 drivers, application developers can to render any application–even those applications for which there is no existing application profile.

http://developer.download.nvidia.com/devzone/devcenter/gamegraphics/files/OptimusRenderingPolicies.pdf