How to instantiate multiple Prefabs to multiple Childs randomly ?

Hello!

I’m a newbie at JavaScript and would like to know how to write a script to a GameObject which contain multiple childs, to then Instantiate to those childs from an Array of 3 Prefabs.

I successfully could instantiate randomly while applying a script to each of the childs but I want to be able to target multiple childs.

Here is the script I attached to individual childs at first:

var pArray : GameObject[];

function Start () {
	Invoke("Spawn", 0);
}

function Spawn(){
	var instance : GameObject = Instantiate(pArray[Random.Range(0, pArray.Length)], transform.position, transform.rotation);
}

Now, when I apply this script to the parent, it only works on the parent. I don’t have a clue of how to target each childs. Everything I tried lead me to errors. It’s been hours now, I’m exhausted… T_T

Thanks.

Use GetComponentsInChildren, then iterate through them with a for loop.

This example will find all the children + the parent himself and then child a random prefab to them. Note that GetComponentsInChildren also returns the parent, if you don’t want this you need to exclude him.

var pArray : GameObject[];
var children : Transform[] = gameObject.GetComponentsInChildren.< Transform>();
for( var child : Transform in children )
{
   var instance : GameObject = Instantiate(pArray[Random.Range(0, pArray.Length)], child.position, child.rotation);
   instance.transform.parent = child;
}

Hello!

Thanks for your answer. Unfortunately, I cannot get it to work.

I get error for the second line of code:

var children : GameObject[] = gameObject.GetComponentsInChildren.< Respawns >();

Child.js(2,68): BCE0018: The name
‘Respawns’ does not denote a valid
type (‘not found’).

And then I get this error for the last line of code:

var instance.transform.parent = child.transform;

Child.js(20,21): BCE0043: Unexpected
token: …