How to move gameObject OnMouseDown slowly from one position to another?

Hi everybody,

I am new to Unity and it’s coding.
I am simply trying to make an gameObject float 2 meters up (animated with duration) when the player clicks the gameObject. I thought on using the following code

void OnMouseDown ()
	{
		rigidbody.MovePosition(rigidbody.position + speed * Time.deltaTime);
	}

But obviously like the code instructs the object just teleports from on position to the other. How can I make the object move slowly between these two points? I was thinking to mix something up with update() and OnMouseDown() but got stuck here. Can somebody help me out with this one? Highly appreciated.

If you want the cube to start moving when you click it, simply set a bool OnMouseDown, and check that in update:

bool shouldMove = false;

void Update() {
    if(shouldMove)
        rigidbody.MovePosition(transform.position + speed * Time.deltaTime);
}

void OnMouseDown() {
    shouldMove = true;
}

That’ll get it moving, assuming you’ve defined the vector ‘speed’.

If you want it to stop moving when you click it, you can simply put “shouldMove = false” in the OnMouseUp method. If you want it to only move a certain distance, you need to set up a target, and move towards it at a certain speed:

float speed = 3f; //set to whatever you want
Vector3 target;
bool shouldMove = false;

void Start() {
    target = transform.position + Vector3.up; //Or, you know, wherever you want the target to be
}

void Update() {
    if(shouldMove)
        rigidbody.MovePosition(Vector3.MoveTowards(transform.position, target, speed * Time.deltaTime));
}

void OnMouseDown() {
    shouldMove = true;
}

Note that here, speed is a float. Hope this helps!

Hello,
You can use Rigidbody.AddForce(…) and the physics will do the job. This is the simplest way.

You can use Transform.translate and also use Vector3.Lerp so the transition is “smooth”

There are a couple of solutions.

Use an animation