I was doing the tictactoe tutorial. I has into the section that is doing the scripting. I had been doing a save project after most steps. My computer crashed.
When I rebooted and reopened the project The board was missing on all the objects I had built. The scripts and prefabs were there though.
How do you save your current process? Is it more than save project?
Also I if I wanted to move the project to another machine what files would I need?
You use the Save menu command (cmd-S) in the Unity editor itself. This will save any edits you have made to the scene (i.e., what’s in the Hierarchy tab). As you found, this is quite different from the scripts and other stuff in your project, which are separate files.
To move the project, just grab the entire project folder (this is the folder containing “Assets”). Or if you want to be stingy, you can move just the “Assets” and “ProjectSettings” folders; the Library, obj, and Temp folders will get recreated as needed, as will the various .csproj and .sln files (which come from your code editor and aren’t used by Unity anyway).
Hmm, I think you think “save the project” is a separate step. It’s not. Changes to things in the project (like prefabs, import settings, etc.) are saved as soon as you make them.
It’s an odd setup. Saving the scene will automatically save the project. It’s rare that you ever need the save project button. Mostly only useful if you mess with project settings or asset meta data, without touching a scene.