How to stop spaceship when there is no gravity?

Hello! I’m a beginner and have a problem with making my spaceship stop when there is no gravity.
My idea is to make the ship to go forward when the Up key is pressed, and when i release the key, it will stop.
Currently i have made it to go forward when the Up key is pressed, and when the key is released, it goes backward to decrease the speed. But i cant figure out to make it stop…
Here is the code i’ve made so far.

using UnityEngine;
using System.Collections;

public class ShipController : MonoBehaviour 
{

public float speedForward = 10;
    public float forwardBoost = 20;    
    public float maxSpeed = 20;
    public float reverseSpeed = -8;

void FixedUpdate () 
    {
        //If Up Key is pressed the ship will fly forward
        if (Input.GetKey("up"))
        {
            rigidbody.AddRelativeForce(Vector3.forward * speedForward);
        }

//If the Up key is released the ship will fly backward to decrease
        //the speed
        else if (rigidbody.velocity.magnitude > 0)
        {
            rigidbody.AddRelativeForce(Vector3.forward * reverseSpeed);
        }

//If the speed is zero then stop the ship
        if (rigidbody.velocity.magnitude == 0)
        {
            rigidbody.velocity = Vector3.zero;
        }

//Set the MAX speed
        if (rigidbody.velocity.magnitude > maxSpeed)
        {
            rigidbody.velocity = rigidbody.velocity.normalized * maxSpeed;
        }
	}
}

Any ideas on how to do this? :stuck_out_tongue:

Why not interpolate the velocity towards Vector3.zero when you want to stop? (Vector3.zero is just “new Vector3(0, 0, 0)”)

Lerp (firstVec : Vector3, SecondVec : Vector3, t : float)

Here’s an example

void FixedUpdate()
 {
  rigidbody.velocity = Vector3.Lerp(rigidbody.velocity, Vector3.zero, Time.fixedTimeDelta);
 }