How to target multiple enemies (add to list)

Hi!
I’m pretty new to Unity and completely new to the forum so apologies if I do something wrong.
I’m trying to target a number of enemies with an ability. The number of targets is defined by a scriptable object so it needs to be able to change depending on the ability.
I’m trying to do it by adding the enemies to a list when you click them, but I can’t get it to work and can’t find anything by Googling (I’m at that stage where I don’t quite know what to Google). At the moment it seems to add all the enemies as soon as I activate the ability. (It’s turn based combat if that makes any difference).

if (!abilityOne.IsGather)
                                    {

do
                                    {
                                        targetCD = abilityOne.NumTargets;
                                    }
                                    while (targetCD < 1);    

if (Input.GetMouseButtonDown(0) && targets.Count < abilityOne.NumTargets)
                                    {                                                                                                       
                                        IDamagable target1 = (hit.collider.gameObject.GetComponent<IDamagable>());   
                                        targets.Add(target1);                                                                                                                                             
                                    }                                                                       

if (targets.Count == abilityOne.NumTargets)
                                    {                                    

foreach (IDamagable target in targets)    
                                        {
                                            int randdam = Random.Range(abilityOne.DamageL + focus, abilityOne.DamageH + 1);