How to wait until an animation has played?

I know this question has been asked multiple times here, but I haven’t been able to find a good solution for it. I’m trying to program “Battle City” from the NES on my own, and I’m a total beginner.

Before the main player (the tank) spawns on the screen at the beginning of a game, an animation of a 4-pointed flickering star plays right on the spot where the tank is going to spawn.

You’ll be able to see it in this video: - YouTube

I’ve made a prefab of that star with the animation. So, what I do is I instantiate the prefab and then instantiate the tank. The problem obviously is that the tank is instantiated while the animation of the star is still playing.

I have created a “startGame” GameObject for this purpose. I load the tank prefab and the star prefab on it, and instantiate them through scripting.

Also, where can I find an exhaustive guide to all the concepts and classes of Unity? I’m learning a lot, but every little step is a nightmare…

Edit:

This is the code I have so far. It’s rather simple…

public GameObject player1;
public GameObject spawnEffect;

// Use this for initialization
void Start () {

Instantiate (spawnEffect, transform.position, transform.rotation);
GameObject Tank = Instantiate (player1, transform.position, transform.rotation) as GameObject;
//this here is for the waves
GameObject.FindGameObjectWithTag ("Tank").GetComponent ("spawnWaves").SendMessage ("createWaves");

}

void Start () {
GameObject star = Instantiate (spawnEffect, transform.position, transform.rotation) as GameObject;
star.GetComponent().StartAnimation(); // Need to create that method that just starts the animation
GameObject Tank = Instantiate (player1, transform.position, transform.rotation) as GameObject;
tank.SetActive(false);
StartCoroutine(StarAnim());
}

IEnumerator StarAnim(){
   while(star.animation.IsPlaying("IntroAnimation")){
       yield return null;
   }
   Destroy(star);
   tank.SetActive(true);
}