Image Flip/Rotations with the mouse above/below 90/-90 degrees to the point. How do I accomplish this?

Hello everyone,
I have been stuck on a problem with image rotation/flipping based on mouse position tracking. the 2 videos below depict what I want the rotation/flip to look like, then what it currently is doing.
The first video is showing a simple code I constructed using Game Maker. I am relatively new to Unity and have been trying to solve this issue for a while. None of the scripts I have found thus far have helped. The Second image is what I have been able to do in Unity. It is able to track the mouse’s position and rotate towards it using the following script.

Goal - - YouTube
Current - - YouTube

What should i use to alter the direction in which the image is facing?
Or better yet, how do i flip the entire player to always face towards the mouse position and rotate the weapon towards the mouse target while still maintaining the desired animations?
This is a loaded question and again, i apologize for being new. I’m learning and I am trying to solve this issue, but I could really use some help.
Thank you for your time! !

//Variables for positions
    public Vector3 mousePosition;
    public Vector3 gunPos;
    public float angle;

void Update()
    {
        faceMouse();
    }

void faceMouse()
    {
        Vector3 mousePosition = Input.mousePosition;
        mousePosition = Camera.main.ScreenToWorldPoint(mousePosition);

Vector2 direction = new Vector2(
            mousePosition.x - transform.position.x, mousePosition.y - transform.position.y);
        transform.right = direction;

}

Z-axis in 2D is for flipping image. Like in mirror if you have z-xis = 180 or -180.

It would be something like this.

void faceMouse()
    {
        Vector3 mousePosition = Input.mousePosition;
        mousePosition = Camera.main.ScreenToWorldPoint(mousePosition);
        if (mousePosition.x > transform.position.x) // Mouse on the left of character