Implementing Camera Shake Effect in visionOS Mixed Reality Applications

Hello ,

I am a developer working on mixed reality applications, currently using Unity’s PolySpatial component for app development. In my past development experience, to create a more realistic impact sensation when a user hits an object, I often used the technique of shaking the main camera, which proved very effective in enhancing the feeling of impact.

However, I’m now facing a challenge in replicating this common effect in the development of mixed reality applications for visionOS. My question is: does Apple provide an interface that allows applications to access and manipulate the real-world background imagery, specifically to create a camera shake effect?

I am eager to understand if there’s a way to implement this in visionOS, as it would significantly enhance the user experience in my application.

I sincerely look forward to any guidance or information you can provide.

Best regards

Interesting question! I’m not aware of any way to do this via the RealityKit API (which is where I would expect to find it), and I suspect that Apple might not want to expose a way to do this because of the potential for abuse/motion sickness. However, it might be possible to create an effect like this (in unbounded MR mode) by temporarily surrounding the viewer with a sphere (inverted, so the faces are visible from the inside) that resamples the environment. We will be adding support for a shader graph node, “PolySpatial Environment Radiance”, that allows access to Apple’s image based lighting, but you can also get the effect by making a mirror-like material (Metallic: 1, Smoothness: 1) and manipulating the fragment normal: a normal that’s orthogonal to the view direction will cause the lighting calculations to sample the environment map in the opposite of the view direction, creating a transparency effect.