In tetris 2D game, how to make tetris pieces blink when a row is completed?

Hello! I’m trying to make a tetris game in unity, and in alll the tutorials I found, when a line is completed, the pieces automatically fall down. I’m very new to unity, and I don’t know how to make the pieces in a completed line “blink” for a while and then drop down. I want the game to be paused while they blink. How would you make this? Where do I start studying this?
BY the way, I followed this tutorial: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ODLzYI4d-J8

I downloaded Zigurous’s unity-tetris-tutorial project from GitHub and added the blink effect which appears before clearing the lines.

Tetris_Blink_Effect

Method / Theory

Zigurous’s project uses a TileMap to display the blocks.

To make the tiles blink, I change their opacity via the tilemap.SetColor() method.

Before you can manipulate a Tile’s color (tint), opacity, etc. you should make sure that its TileFlags value is not locking the color (TileFlags.LockColor). By calling the tilemap.SetFlags() method you can simply set it to TileFlags.None to give yourself full control.

I used a Coroutine to control the blink animation and yield new WaitForSeconds(..) to add a delay every time I change the opacity of the lines we wish to clear.

I modified the Piece component and made it pause the game while the blink effect is active (by “pause the game” I mean to prevent the next piece from spawning and prevent the player from controlling the piece).

Add and test the blink effect

1. Download Zigurous’s unity-tetris-tutorial project from GitHub.
    You can download the zip-file by clicking the green Code button then choose Download ZIP.

2. Open the project in Unity and press play. Make sure it works before you use my scripts.

3. Download my scripts:
    Google Drive folder