Is it safe to erase extra files when renaming project folder?

Hola!

I make occasional copies of the project, and rename them with a date or feature that makes it distinctive. Unity opens that project just fine, but also creates new .sln, .userpfers, and -cshart.sln files. Is it safe to erase those files based on original folder name?

For example, I have UnityA folder, and inside it will have:

  • UnityA.sln
  • UnityA-csharp.sln
  • UnityA.userprefs

If I rename that project folder to UnityB, I’ll end up with following files:

  • UnityA.sln
  • UnityA-csharp.sln
  • UnityA.userprefs
  • UnityB.sln
  • UnityB-csharp.sln
  • UnityB.userprefs

Are UnityA* files accessed at all at this point, and if not, is it safe to erase them?

You’ll only need the Folders Assets, Library, and since 3.5 ProjectSettings. Anything else is auto-generated.

*.sln contain infos that will be used by IDEs such as MonoDevelop. Not entirely sure what *.userprefs contains, but these are not permanent settings relevant for the contents of your project. Maybe just the current window layout or something like that.

You’ll definitely not need the UnityA* files in your UnityB project.