Mirror player gameobject to face direction of travel

Hi

I’m very new to all this, and just starting to get my head around how scripting works.

I’m trying to set up a simple 2d character to move around a map, changing from an idle animation to a walking animation when he moves. So far i have that working and can move him all around the map. What I can’t figure out how to do, is get the game object to flip when he wants to walk left. At the moment he just moonwalks when moving left.

I’ve tried a couple of things (commented out below) that have had limited results. What I want to do is have the x scale move to -1 when his movement is negative in the x axis. I know about ‘flip sprite’ but this doesn’t help as I have a light as part of the player game object and it ends up in the wrong place (ie it doesn’t flip with the sprite).

using System.Collections;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using UnityEngine;

public class tl : MonoBehaviour 
{
	public float moveSpeed;
	Animator anim;
	Transform trans;

// Use this for initialization
	void Start ()
	{
		//starting speed
		moveSpeed = 10f;
		anim = GetComponent<Animator> ();
		trans = GetComponent<Transform> ();
	}

// Update is called once per frame
	void Update ()
	{
		//simple arrow movement
		transform.Translate (moveSpeed * Input.GetAxis ("Horizontal") * Time.deltaTime, moveSpeed * Input.GetAxis ("Vertical") * Time.deltaTime, 0f);

//Animation state controls
		if (Input.GetKeyDown (KeyCode.RightArrow)) {
			anim.SetInteger ("state", 1);
		}
		if (Input.GetKeyUp (KeyCode.RightArrow)) {
			anim.SetInteger ("state", 0);
		}
		if (Input.GetKeyDown (KeyCode.LeftArrow)) {
			anim.SetInteger ("state", 1);
		}
		if (Input.GetKeyUp (KeyCode.LeftArrow)) {
			anim.SetInteger ("state", 0);
		}
	}
}
		//Flip Player

//if (moveSpeed*Input.GetAxis ("Horizontal") * Time.deltaTime < 0) {

//trans.localScale = new Vector3 (transform.localScale.x * -1, transform.localScale.y, transform.localScale.z);
		//}
		//OR