Movement script not working

I made a movement script but it’s not working, when i put it on my character and test the game it doesn’t do anything when i try to move (I’m a very new programmer btw)

using UnityEngine;
using System.Collections;

public class Movement : MonoBehaviour {
	public float maxSpeed = 10;
	public float jumpForce = 650;
	public Transform groundCheck;
	private float groundedRadius = .2f;
	private bool grounded = false;
	public LayerMask whatIsGround;

// Use this for initialization
	void Start () {

}

// Update is called once per frame
	void Update () {
		if (Input.GetButtonDown ("Horizontal")) {
			rigidbody2D.AddForce(new Vector2 (maxSpeed, 0f));
		}
		if (Input.GetButtonDown ("Jump") && grounded) {
			rigidbody2D.AddForce(new Vector2 (0f, jumpForce));		
		}
	}

void FixedUpdate () {
		grounded = Physics2D.OverlapCircle(groundCheck.position, groundedRadius, whatIsGround);
	}
}

Thank you in advance :slight_smile:

Edit: I have partly fixed it, now i can jump. I forgot to tell unity what object the ground check was… I am smart
¨
Edit 2: Thank you for all the help :), but i plan on making my game on a keyboard, not a controller, so Input.GetAxis wouldn’t work (As far as i know)

Check your Input Manager within unity, make sure that your axises are exactly what you typed in code, in this case, it is “Horizontal” and “Jump”. As for jump, you have an additional case, make sure that is also true (because you put the “and” within the case).

Since it’s a 2D game you can make it really simple by just doing this:

if (Input.GetKey (KeyCode.D)) {
     transform.Translate(Vector2.right * maxSpeed * Time.deltaTime);
     transform.eulerAngles = new Vector2 (0, 0);
}

if (Input.GetKey (KeyCode.A)) {
     transform.Translate(Vector2.right * maxSpeed * Time.deltaTime);
     transform.eulerAngles = new Vector2 (0, 180);
}

I would say that your inputs are wrong from my experience, I would put

if (Input.GetAxis("Horizontal")) {