Multiplayer camera problem

I’ve been struck, by the apparently infamous multiplayer camera problem. I have read and researched, but I can not find a solution. I have probably spent around 7-9 hours trying to get eh cameras to work. I have a simple multiplayer game, where there are two forklifts that try and flip each other over, but when the second player spawns in the first player uses their camera. I am relatively new to coding in C#, and wanted to use this as a good learning opportunity. Here is the code I have attached to the camera of my prefab as of writing this:
using System.Collections;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using UnityEngine;
using UnityEngine.Networking;

public class caselupa : NetworkBehaviour {

// Use this for initialization
	void Start () {
        if (!gameObject.transform.parent.gameObject.GetComponent<NetworkView>().isMine)
        {
            gameObject.SetActive(true);
        }
    }

// Update is called once per frame
	void Update () {
        if (!gameObject.transform.parent.gameObject.GetComponent<NetworkView>().isMine)
        {
            gameObject.SetActive(true);
        }
    }
}

As I said I am relatively new to C#, and so I tried using other peoples’ code, and it would not work, so I took what info I could gather, and made that bit of code. The way I understand it, if the network view of the parent object is not owned by the local player then don’t use that camera. Any help I could get would be great, It is 9:00 now and I have been working on this problem for the past 3 hours.

edit: about a half hour after posting this I did a little test, I just set the camera to inactive, in the inspector, and made a code that just on start set the camera as active, and every frame checked to see if the camera was active. The thing is nothing happened. So I have one of two conclusions. Either A: I am just so bad at programming that I can’t set something as active, or B: the code, for whatever reason, is not affecting my game object.