NetworkManager: How to respond to a specific client?

Short version of the question: In a local network game which is being handled by a NetworkManager, how can I have one client send a message to the server, and have the server send a message back just to that client?

Longer version: I’m new to networking code, and I guess I’m missing something. I have a class which inherits from NetworkManager, to handle local multiplayer. I have some data stored on the server, and when a new client connects, I want to send the data to the client in a Message. I originally had some code on the client side that, once a client had connected, would send a “data request” message to the server, with the client’s connectionID as part of the message. Upon receiving the “data request” message, the server would then do something like this:

void OnClientRequestDataMessage(NetworkMessage netMsg)
{
	var requestMessage = netMsg.ReadMessage<IntegerMessage>();
	int connectionId = requestMessage.value;

DataMessage dataMsg = new DataMessage();
	// Copy the data that's stored on the server into the message
	ghostMessage._data = _serverData; 

NetworkServer.SendToClient(connectionId, MSG_SERVER_SEND_DATA, dataMsg);
}

This worked for the local client (connectionId = 0) and the first remote client that connected (connectionId = 1) but broke for any subequent clients, since they would always send a connectionId of 1. I should have read the connectionId documentation more clearly! The connectionId I want to send to is the one the server uses, not the one the client sends.

So my question is, how do I find the right connectionId on the server to send the data to a given client?