node null reference

So like most on here I am very new to coding and am still wrapping my head around some of the ins and outs of c#. I am attempting my first crack at my own game. I am using some code from a tutorial to make the grid and path-finding and node system, with my own tweaks added in for my purpose. Everything works up until now. I have a working grid that my player can travel on. I have made each node a large 10x10 area space and am using each node as a static room. I am trying to write a script to spawn a room in the next node as the player gets to a collider i set at edge of the node. I have a door that opens from the same collider so I know its working.

The call to the path finder code works cause its getting called to make my player move from node to node. I keep getting a null reference error when I try to use the node of object. The debugging is me making sure that the curRoomNode has a value right before I call the GetNeighbours() method.

I am using this code so far…

void SpawnRandomRoom()
{
    //spawns item in array position between 0 and number of rooms in list
    int whichRoom = Random.Range(0, listOfRooms.Count);

GameObject myObj = Instantiate(listOfRooms[whichRoom]) as GameObject;

numRoomsSpawned++;

// Find current node that room is on and get neighbours
    Vector3 curRoomWorldPos = transform.position;
    Debug.Log("world pos " + curRoomWorldPos.x+", "+ curRoomWorldPos.y+", "+curRoomWorldPos.z);

Node curRoomNode = GridBase.singleton.GetNode((int)curRoomWorldPos.x,(int)curRoomWorldPos.y,(int)curRoomWorldPos.z);
    Debug.Log("Current node is:" + curRoomNode.x + "," + curRoomNode.y + "," + curRoomNode.z);

List<Node> curNeighbours = new List<Node>();

foreach (Node neighbour in pathfinder.GetNeighbours(curRoomNode))
    {
        curNeighbours.Add(neighbour);
    }
    Debug.Log("The neighbours are: " + curNeighbours);

if(gameObject.name == "Door West")
    {
        //myObj.transform.position = 
    }