NullReferenceException from calling a method from another class.

Hello,
I am new to programing and have been trying to learn how to use multiply scripts instead of just using one. I have ran into a problem with the following code. When I call the getNextTriangle method from the MasterGame script I get this error.

NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
CreateTriangles.getNextTriangle (Int32 xSide) (at Assets/C#/CreateTriangles.cs:24)
MasterGame.Start () (at Assets/C#/MasterGame.cs:13)

public class CreateTriangles : MonoBehaviour {
    public GameObject trianglePreFab;
    private List<GameObject> triangles;
    private Rigidbody2D rb;

void Start () {
        triangles = new List<GameObject>();
        for(int i = 0; i < 5; i++)
        {
            triangles.Add(Instantiate(trianglePreFab, new Vector3(0, -10, 0),trianglePreFab.transform.rotation));
            triangles*.gameObject.SetActive(false);*

}
}
/I can call the getNextTriangle method from within this script and it works with no problems. However when I call it from my other script, its like triangles is empty, it never gets set up from Start./
public void getNextTriangle(int xSide)
{
for (int i = 0; i < triangles.Count;i++) //This is where the error starts.
{
if (!triangles*.activeInHierarchy)*
{
triangles*.transform.position = new Vector3(xSide, -5, 0);*
triangles*.SetActive(true);*
rb = triangles*.GetComponent();*
rb.AddForce(transform.up * 500);
break;
}
else
{
triangles.Add(Instantiate(trianglePreFab, new Vector3(xSide, -5, 0),trianglePreFab.transform.rotation));
}
}
}
And here is the other script I am trying to call it from.
public class MasterGame : MonoBehaviour {
private CreateTriangles triangle;
void Start()
{
triangle = GameObject.Find(“This is the game object CreateTriangles is on”).GetComponent();
triangle.getNextTriangle(-2);
}
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks