Object orientation in relation to camera position

Hi there. I am fairly new to Unity and I’ve run into an issue that I cannot wrap my head around.
I am looking to change the rotation of an object (sphere) based on the position of the camera.
Basically I have a scene with a lot of people, and I want their heads to rotate away when the camera is looking toward them, and facing toward the fps controller when the camera is looking downwards.

Hope there is someone who can help me understand :slight_smile:

Thanks in advance!

Disclaimers: It’s a bit hard to tell what exactly you mean by the camera looking downwards, but I’m gonna assume that you mean when the camera looks far enough down that they are a given angle from straight down. Additionally, I’m gonna assume that by ‘look away’, you mean look in the opposite direction. If these are not the case, the following answer should still be able to apply, although some tweaking might be needed. Also, the code that’s written here is untested and intended for example purposes. It is not guaranteed to be functional or to match your use case, so copy-pasting is not recommended.

Anyway, to the answer:

What you’re probably looking for is Transform.LookAt or Quaternion.LookRotation.

Noting that you tagged this question as “Scripting beginner”, I’m gonna go step by step with some explanation, starting with just getting the head to turn, and ending with a result it seems like you are looking for.

Detecting when the player looks down:

Firstly, we’ll create a script that will exist on the head sphere. For this answer I’ll be calling it “Head”. Inherits from monobehaviour, etc etc. We’ll also add a reference to the player’s camera’s transform, and a float threshold for how far down is looking down. The way I’ll implement this is as such:

public class Head : Monobehaviour{
      public Transform playerCam;
      public float threshold;

void Update(){
            if(Vector3.Angle(playerCam.forward, Vector3.down)<threshold){