Objects interfering with eachother?

Hello everybody.

I’m somewhat new to Unity and got a problem with controlling my player character. My player character is two sides of a ball, left and right. They should be able to move independently from each other while jumping, but “rolling” should be together. “Rolling” is no problem, but the jumping is. I wanted to avoid using physics, therfore my gameobjects both got a rigidbody attached, gravity = false, is kinematic = true.

Now I wanted to control them with one single script instead of two, one for each side of the ball. I got the following:

using System.Collections;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using UnityEngine;

public class PlayerController : MonoBehaviour {

public GameObject left;
	public GameObject right;

public bool jumpRightInProgress;
	public bool jumpLeftInProgress;

private float jumpSpeed = 0.45f;
	private float yVelocity;
	private float moveSpeedMultiplier = 8;

private bool doJumpRight = false;
	private bool doJumpLeft = false;

void Start () {
		jumpLeftInProgress = false;
		jumpRightInProgress = false;
	}

void FixedUpdate () {
		float moveVertical = Input.GetAxis("Vertical");

if (Input.GetKey(KeyCode.D) && right.transform.position.y == 1.0f && !jumpRightInProgress) {
			jumpRightInProgress = true;
			doJumpRight = true;
		}

if (jumpRightInProgress) {
			JumpRight(moveVertical);
		}

if (Input.GetKey(KeyCode.A) && left.transform.position.y == 1.0f && !jumpLeftInProgress) {
			jumpLeftInProgress = true;
			doJumpLeft = true;
		}

if (jumpLeftInProgress) {
			JumpLeft(moveVertical);
		}
	}

private void JumpRight(float moveVertical) {
		if (jumpRightInProgress) {
			yVelocity = yVelocity - Time.deltaTime;
			float finalVelocity = yVelocity;

if (doJumpRight) {
				right.GetComponent<Rigidbody>().MovePosition(new Vector3(right.transform.position.x, right.transform.position.y + finalVelocity, right.transform.position.z + (moveVertical * moveSpeedMultiplier * Time.deltaTime)));
			}