Passing variable to other script after button press to control which UI is displayed

I’m new at scripting so please let me know if I’m aproaching this completely wrong. I am having trouble passing a logged in state which is, for now, just triggered by pressing a gui button.

I have 3 scenes:
EntryScreen
Main (which is like a lobby)
Room1

EntryScreen just displays a button that says Enter.
When you press enter, it loads the Main scene.

Main has 2 gui buttons. One says Main (which loads the level Main) and the other says Room1 (which loads Room1).

I have an object in the EntryScreen called UIManager, with 3 scripts attached.

1. UIEntry.js - this displays the UI for the entry screen.

2. MainUI.js - this displays the UI for the game once you leave the EntryScreen scene.

3. LoggedInUIControl.js - this one controls which of UI scripts are activated based on whether or not you are logged in. For now I just want to set the loggedIn state to true if you press the Enter button on the Entry Screen.

In the inspector, I have all 3 scripts enabled, but I have the LoggedInUIControl script turn off the other scripts on awake and if the button has not been pressed on the Entry screen, this script then enables the EntryUI script.

I have the entry script change the value of loggedIn to true, but I can’t get that value to be read by the loggedInUIControl script. It is remaining as false.

I can see in the inspector that the value of loggedIn is true for the UIEntry script.

Any help on this would be great. I just need to get the value of loggedIn in the LoggedInUIControl to equal the state of loggedIn from the UIEntry script.

Below are the scripts:

loggedInUIControl.js

#pragma strict

var loggedInFromEntry : UIEntry;
var loggedIn : boolean = false;

function Awake ()
{
	GetComponent(MainUI).enabled = false;
	GetComponent(UIEntry).enabled = false;

DontDestroyOnLoad(this);
}

function Start () 
{
	loggedInFromEntry = GetComponent(UIEntry);