Player Movement doesn't work

Now, I am new to unity, so a simple answer will help me a lot. I was working on a test platformer project. I was writing the player’s movement script and I suppose it should be correct. But when I run the project, my player doesn’t move at all. Any help will really be appreciated.

using UnityEngine;

public class PlayerMovement : MonoBehaviour
{
    private float vaxis;
    private float haxis;
    public float moveSpeed = 40f;
    public float jumpSpeed = 20f;
    private Vector2 newForce = new Vector2(0f, 0f);
    public Rigidbody2D player;

private void FixedUpdate()
    {
        haxis = Input.GetAxisRaw("Horizontal");
        vaxis = Input.GetAxisRaw("Vertical");
        if(vaxis == -1)
            vaxis = 0;

newForce.x = moveSpeed * haxis * Time.fixedDeltaTime;
        newForce.y = jumpSpeed * vaxis * Time.fixedDeltaTime;
        player.AddForce(newForce);
    }
}

I have assigned the Rigidbody2D attached to my player to ‘player’ variable. I see nothing wrong.
Please help me. This is really frustrating.

Thanks,
Nandan Goyal

For AddForce to work “Is Kinematic” needs to be unchecked on the rigidbody

Hi!
First make sure that the “isKinematic” option is unchecked.
Don’t use Fixed update to check input. Use Update and store input in a variable and use fixed update to perform movement.
Use getcomponent to get the RIGIDBODY attached.
And don’t forget to attach the script to the player gameobject haha
Good luck!

Hey! So really your code is fine and should work - I’m manged to get your exact code working in a little test. Therefore something must have gone wrong in unity rather than the code. Lets go through the things to check: