Problem with Windswept Procedural tree

I am new to Unity and trying my first project. In the project I need a specific type of windswept tree that players climb so I want the tree as realistic as possible. The Unity-generated tree produces square branches for the smaller ones. I wanted something more realistic. I grabbed “Procedural Tree” (Unity Asset Store - The Best Assets for Game Making) from the asset store. It makes nice trees, round branches,… but not windswept. I went into the code and tried to modify the rotations to preferentially have the limbs bend in a specific world direction. I can’t seem to get the rotations correct. I can bend the branches but the orthogonal rings don’t rotate (the branches turn inside out) or I can bend them in the local system and get corkscrew trees - interesting but not what I need. I have never worked with quaternions so that it where I am messed up.

It is clear that my use of transform.InverseTransformDirection is incorrect. I have tried it using quaternions instead of vector components, rotating the quaternion toward an object. switching the entire code to vectors,… not having much luck. I have contacted wasabimole who wrote the code a couple of times but haven’t heard back from them.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. What I need are suggestions on the best and simplest way to do this and hints to understand what is happening so I can do it myself in the future.

Thank you in advance.

The recursive branch code with my modifications is:

// Add ring vertices
for (var n = 0; n <= NumberOfSides; n++, ang += angInc) 
{
	var r = ringShape[n] * radius;
	offset.x = r * Mathf.Cos(ang); // Get X, Z vertex offsets
	offset.z = r * Mathf.Sin(ang);
	vertexList.Add(position + quaternion * offset); // Add Vertex position
	uvList.Add(texCoord); // Add UV coord
	texCoord.x += textureStepU;
}

if (lastRingVertexIndex >= 0) // After first base ring is added ...
{
	// Create new branch segment quads, between last two vertex rings